A territory to discover

Ticino, a rich territory in history and traditions:
Discover all the initiatives in every season of the year.

Ticino: land to be discovered

Let yourself be fascinated by the most characteristic territories of Switzerland!
Take a walk by the lake or in the mountains, the Ticino is ideal for lovers of outdoor excursions.
Nature and culture at your fingertips.
In a few minutes drive from our hotel you can visit the charming cities of Lugano and Locarno, with their museums and characteristic places.

SWISS CHARM

Our guests will be fascinated by the most characteristic territories of Switzerland!
Take a walk by the lake or in the mountains, the Ticino is ideal for lovers of outdoor excursions.
In a few minutes drive from our hotel you can visit the charming cities of Lugano and Como, with their museums and characteristic places. For good food and wine lovers: do not miss the thematic routes between the typical grottos and the suggestive vineyards of the Mendrisiotto!

Sessa Goldmine

SESSA GOLDMINE

The area of Monte Sceré, as in all of Malcantone, has a subsoil rich in minerals, and various metals such as iron, lead, silver, and gold, extracted already in the 18th century. Here the earliest documented gold mining attemps date back to 1785, but on the banks of the Lisora river, neatly stacked piles of well-worn bowls can be found, representing the remain of gold mining activity dating from the Roman period (Aurifodine). For this reason, Malcantone has been included in the national inventory as “One of the largest mining districts in Switzerland.” Until 2015, the entrance to the Costa di Sessa mine was abandoned and inaccessible, hiding an underground maze with over two kilometres of tunnels dug by the miners on five different levels. This 375-meter tunnel, known as the “Leonilde,” is now open to the public to explore the spectacular and characteristic elements of the mining world. The Sessa mine is unique, offering the only possibility to experience the history of the extraction of gold minerals in Switzerland.

 

Shaftopen to the public with guide

Length: 382m
Minimal height: 1,65m 
Temperature: 11-12°C
Length of tour: 75min

miniera di Sessa
miniera di Sessa
Miniera Sessa

SUGGESTIONS FOR YOUR VISIT

The constant temperature inside the cave is 11-12 °C; we recommend you take along warm clothes. Furthermore, due to the slippery ground, the access to the cave is allowed only with appropriate shoes or boots.

BOOKING VISITS, OPENING HOURS AND PRICES

T +41 (0)79 127 20 80
e-mail info@minieradoro.ch
www.minieradoro.ch

Dear guests,Following the new provisions against the spread of Coronavirus, for customers who have booked a stay at our facility, we communicate that:

Starting from Monday September 13th, the consumption at the table in the indoor areas (bar and restaurant) will be allowed only on presentation of a Covid Certificate (from 16 years old).Non-holders of the certificate will be able to consume outside (weather permitting) or in the room for breakfast only, with self-service mode.
Thanks for your cooperation and for your understanding.

The management

Ein Gebiet, das es zu entdecken gilt

Der Tessin, ein Gebiet reich an Geschichte und Traditionen:
Entdecken Sie alle Initiativen zu jeder Jahreszeit

Tessin: ein Region zu entdecken

Lassen Sie sich von den charakteristischsten Gebieten der Schweiz faszinieren!
Spazieren Sie am See oder in den Bergen, das Tessin ist ideal für Outdoor-Liebhaber.
Natur und Kultur zu Ihren Händen. Ein paar Minuten Fahrt von unserem Hotel entfernt können Sie die charmanten Städte Lugano und Locarno mit ihren Museen und charakteristischen Plätzen besuchen.

SCHWEIZER CHARME

Unsere Gäste werden von den charakteristischsten Gebieten der Schweiz fasziniert sein! Ein paar Minuten Fahrt können Sie die charmanten Städte Lugano und Como besuchen. Spazieren Sie am See oder in den Bergen, das Tessin ist ideal für Outdoor-Liebhaber. Für Weinliebhaber, sowie Ausflüge in die Natur, verpassen Sie nicht die thematischen Routen durch die schönen Weinberge des Mendrisiotto!

Goldmine Von Sessa

GOLDMINE VON SESSA
Der Region des Monte Sceré ist wie das ganze Malcantone reich an Mineralien. Man nimmt an, dass schon im 18. Jahrhundert nach verschiedenen Metallen, wie Gold, Silber, Eisen und Blei gegraben worden ist. Laut Überlieferungen wurden hier um 1785 die ersten Grabungen gemacht. An den Dämmen des Flusses Lisora jedoch existieren geordnete Haufen von gewaschenen Pflastersteinen, welche auf Reste von Terrassen hinweisen, die schon in der Römerzeit der Goldgewinnung dienten (Aurifodine). Aus diesem Grunde wurde das Malcantone mit folgender Bezeichnung in das nationale Inventar aufgenommen “Eines der grössten Mineraldistrikte der Schweiz”. Bis 2015 war diese Bergbaustätte total verlassen und in Vergessenheit geraten. Versteckt von riesigem Gestrüpp war der Eingang verschüttet und unzugänglich, obwohl die Mineure in der Vergangenheit ein unterirdisches Labyrinth von über 2 Kilometern mit Galerien auf 5 Stockwerken gebohrt hatten. In zweijähriger Arbeit wurde der Hauptstollen “Leonilde” von 375 Metern Länge restauriert und für Besucher zugänglich gemacht. Dies erlaubt, die interessanten und spektakulären Techniken aus der Welt des Bergbaus zu entdecken. In der Schweiz präsentiert heute die Mine von Sessa das einzige Beispiel dieser Art von Goldgewinnung.

 

Offener Stollen für Besucher mit Führung

Länge: 382m
Minimal Höhe: 1,65m 
Temperatur: 11-12°C
Dauer der Führung: 75min

miniera di Sessa
miniera di Sessa
Miniera Sessa

RATSCHLÄGE FÜR DEN BESUCH

Die Temperatur in der Mine beträgt konstant 11-12°C. Wir empfehlen warme Bekleidung zu tragen. In der Mine hat es schlammige Stellen. Der Zugang ist nur mit Stiefeln oder dazu geeigneten Schuhen erlaubt.

BUCHUNGSBESUCHE, ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN UND PREISE

T +41 (0)79 127 20 80
e-mail info@minieradoro.ch
www.minieradoro.ch