A territory to discover

Ticino, a rich territory in history and traditions:
Discover all the initiatives in every season of the year.

Ticino: land to be discovered

Let yourself be fascinated by the most characteristic territories of Switzerland!
Take a walk by the lake or in the mountains, the Ticino is ideal for lovers of outdoor excursions.
Nature and culture at your fingertips.
In a few minutes drive from our hotel you can visit the charming cities of Lugano and Locarno, with their museums and characteristic places.

SWISS CHARM

Our guests will be fascinated by the most characteristic territories of Switzerland!
Take a walk by the lake or in the mountains, the Ticino is ideal for lovers of outdoor excursions.
In a few minutes drive from our hotel you can visit the charming cities of Lugano and Como, with their museums and characteristic places. For good food and wine lovers: do not miss the thematic routes between the typical grottos and the suggestive vineyards of the Mendrisiotto!

Sessa Goldmine

SESSA GOLDMINE

The area of Monte Sceré, as in all of Malcantone, has a subsoil rich in minerals, and various metals such as iron, lead, silver, and gold, extracted already in the 18th century. Here the earliest documented gold mining attemps date back to 1785, but on the banks of the Lisora river, neatly stacked piles of well-worn bowls can be found, representing the remain of gold mining activity dating from the Roman period (Aurifodine). For this reason, Malcantone has been included in the national inventory as “One of the largest mining districts in Switzerland.” Until 2015, the entrance to the Costa di Sessa mine was abandoned and inaccessible, hiding an underground maze with over two kilometres of tunnels dug by the miners on five different levels. This 375-meter tunnel, known as the “Leonilde,” is now open to the public to explore the spectacular and characteristic elements of the mining world. The Sessa mine is unique, offering the only possibility to experience the history of the extraction of gold minerals in Switzerland.

 

Shaftopen to the public with guide

Length: 382m
Minimal height: 1,65m 
Temperature: 11-12°C
Length of tour: 75min

miniera di Sessa
miniera di Sessa
Miniera Sessa

SUGGESTIONS FOR YOUR VISIT

The constant temperature inside the cave is 11-12 °C; we recommend you take along warm clothes. Furthermore, due to the slippery ground, the access to the cave is allowed only with appropriate shoes or boots.

BOOKING VISITS, OPENING HOURS AND PRICES

T +41 (0)79 127 20 80
e-mail info@minieradoro.ch
www.minieradoro.ch

Dear guests,Following the new provisions against the spread of Coronavirus, for customers who have booked a stay at our facility, we communicate that:

Starting from Monday September 13th, the consumption at the table in the indoor areas (bar and restaurant) will be allowed only on presentation of a Covid Certificate (from 16 years old).Non-holders of the certificate will be able to consume outside (weather permitting) or in the room for breakfast only, with self-service mode.
Thanks for your cooperation and for your understanding.

The management

Un territoire à découvrir

Le Tessin, un territoire riche en histoire et en traditions:
Découvrez toutes les initiatives à chaque saison de l’année.

Tessin: terre à découvrir

Laissez-vous fasciner par les territoires les plus caractéristiques de la Suisse!
Faites une promenade au bord du lac ou dans les montagnes, le Tessin est idéal pour les amateurs d’excursions en plein air.
Nature et culture à portée de main. A quelques minutes en voiture de notre hôtel, vous pourrez visiter les charmantes villes de Lugano et de Locarno, avec leurs musées et leurs lieux caractéristiques.

CHARME SUISSE

Nos hôtes seront fascinés par les territoires les plus caractéristiques de la Suisse!
A quelques minutes en voiture, vous pouvez visiter les villes charmantes de Lugano et Como.
Faites une promenade au bord du lac ou dans les montagnes, le Tessin est idéal pour les amateurs d’excursions en plein air.
Pour les amateurs de vin, ainsi que des excursions dans la nature, ne manquez pas les itinéraires thématiques à travers les vignobles suggestifs du Mendrisiotto!

Mine d'or de Sessa

MINE D’OR DE SESSA
La zone du Monte Sceré, comme tout le Malcantone, à un soussol riche en minéraux. On suppose que déjà au 18ème siècle on y extrayait divers métaux, en particulier de l’or, de l’argent, du fer et du plomb. Les premières tentatives d’extraction d’or documentées remontent à 1785, mais proche de la rivière Lisora, l’on trouve des tas ordonnés de galets, bien lavés, attestant des vestiges de l’exploitation de terrasses aurifères remontant à l’époque Romaine (Aurifodine). Pour cette raison le Malcantone a été mis à l’inventaire national comme “district minier parmi les plus grands de Suisse”. Jusqu’en 2015 la minière de La Costa di Sessa était laissée à l’abandon et oublié de tous. Cachée dans les broussailles, l’entrée de la mine était devenue inaccessible, bien que des mineurs y creusèrent un labyrinthe souterrain de galeries de plus de 2 km disposées sur 5 niveaux. L’itinéraire ouvert au public, qui parcourt une galerie de 375 mètres de long appelée “Leonilde”, vous permet de découvrir les éléments les plus spectaculaires et caractéristiques du monde minier. La mine est à ce jour l‘unique expérience possible pour vivre l’histoire de l’exploitation et de l’extraction du mineral aurifère en Suisse

 

Parcours ouvert au public avec guide

Longueur: 382m
Hauteur minimale: 1,65m 
Température: 11-12°C
Durée de la visite: 75min

miniera di Sessa
miniera di Sessa
Miniera Sessa

CONSEILS POUR LA VISITE

La température constante à l’intérieur de la mine est de 11-12°C. Par conséquent, nous vous recommandons d’apporter des vêtements chauds. En outre, le terrain est boueux et l’accès est uniquement autorisé avec des chaussures appropriées tel que des bottes en caoutchouc ou des chaussures de montagne.

RÉSERVATION VISITES, HORAIRES D’OUVERTURE ET PRIX

T +41 (0)79 127 20 80
e-mail info@minieradoro.ch
www.minieradoro.ch

Chères clients, Suite aux nouvelles dispositions contre la propagation du Coronavirus, pour les clients ayant réservé un séjour dans notre établissement, nous communiquons que:

A partir du lundi 13 septembre, la consommation à la table dans les espaces intérieurs (bar et restaurant) sera autorisée uniquement sur présentation d'un Certificat Covid (à partir de 16 ans).Les non-titulaires de l'attestation pourront consommer à l'extérieur (si le temps le permet) ou en chambre pour le petit-déjeuner uniquement, en mode self-service. Merci de votre coopération et de votre compréhension.

La direction